In the eyes of the law, the Age of Consent is the age at which a person is considered old enough to be capable of giving consent to, as well as legally able to engage in, sexual acts. Currently in the state of Wisconsin, the Age of Consent is considered to be 18 years of age.
Generally speaking, this means is that individuals who engage in a sexual act with someone under the age of 18 years old are breaking the law. This does not simply apply to sexual intercourse, but rather this law applies to any type of sexual activity with a partner that is underage.
Individuals who break this law could be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the nature of the act as well as what type of jurisdiction the person is prosecuted in.
As an example, statutory rape of a minor would be considered a felony. The age of the minor can also make a difference. In Wisconsin, the law states that having sex with a minor who is under the age of 16 it is a Class C Felony, while having sex with a minor who is 16 or 17 is a class A misdemeanor.
One important thing to note, however, is that there is no "Romeo and Juliet" law in the state of Wisconsin. What this means is that it is still against the law to have sex with a person who is under the age of 18, even if you are within a few years or so of your partner's age.
Interestingly, even if you are both the same age, it is against the law and in these types of cases both individuals could actually face charges even if both parties gave consent.
Sex crimes involving minors under the Age of Consent could result in a jail sentence of one to 50 years in prison and registration as a sex offender for life. An experience Wisconsin criminal attorney may be able to assist defendants who are facing these types of charges.
Source: Age of Consent by State, "What is the 2014 Age of Consent in Wisconsin?" Jul. 29, 2014